PO Box 75498 Tampa, FL 33675 | 813-622-8252

The Tampa Bay Library Consortium (TBLC) is recognizing four leaders with its “Library Champion Award.” The recipients are nominated by library leaders around the TBLC region and awards are granted to recognize elected or appointed officials who have demonstrated exceptional support for libraries. The awards are our way to thank and honor those how have stepped up for libraries, help build those relationships, and encourage the honorees to keep up the great work.

  • Senator Jack Latvala – Senator Latvala represents Senate District 20 serving part of Pinellas County and has a long record of supporting libraries and has played a leadership role in the establishment of the East Lake Library. Senator Latvala Chairs the Senate Transportation, Tourism, and Economic Development that considers funding for library programs like State Aid to Public Libraries, Public Library Construction Grants, Library Cooperative Grants that support TBLC and the other four multitype library cooperatives, and funding for the Division of Library and Information services. Senator Latvala has been recognized with this award several times in the past.
  • Representative Jim Boyd – Rep. Boyd represents House District 71 including parts of Manatee and Sarasota Counties and been a strong library supporter. Rep. Boyd served as Honorary Chairman and a major fundraiser for the Manatee County Public Library’s hugely successful recent Stephen King fundraiser the proceeds of which are going for a new integrated library automation system.
  • Representative Elizabeth Peters – Rep. Peters represents House District 69 including part of Pinellas County and has a particularly supportive relationship with Pinellas library advocates. Rep. Peters and serves on the House Transportation and Economic Development Appropriations Subcommittee that recommends funding for library programs.
  • Pinellas County Commissioner Dave Eggers – Since becoming a Pinellas County Commissioner last year, Dave Eggers has championed the cause of public libraries in North Pinellas County on the Commission. Commissioner Eggers previously served as mayor of Dunedin and, in that capacity championed the Dunedin Public Library. Commissioner Eggers received this award while Dunedin Mayor for his support for the library.

To all of the honorees – We appreciate you!

TBLC 2015 Library Champion Award Honorees Announced
Scroll to top