FLA requests help from members

The following post is courtesy of Faye Roberts, executive director of the Florida Library Association.

This is to request your help, as a member of the Florida Library Association, in contacting your legislators TODAY in support of State Aid to Libraries funding.

The legislative special session on budget has begun and it’s urgent that all library supporters contact (phone or email) their legislators. IT’S ESPECIALLY IMPORTANT TO CONTACT MEMBERS OF THE HOUSE –both your own representatives and members of the key Transportation & Economic Development Appropriations Committee.  A list of these committee members with phone numbers and email addresses is at the end of this message.

The key message is “We understand the state is facing the worst budget challenges in modern times and we respect the fact that you will have to make difficult decisions and that no area will be exempt from cuts.  We ask that you support the Governor’s proposed $1.06 million reduction to the State Aid to Public Libraries Program.”

Folks can — and should — also send a message directly to their own legislators through the Capwiz  program by going to http://capwiz.com/ala/fl/home/.  This program walks you through the process and automatically sends the message to your own legislators. It also allows you to easily share a copy of your message with your own friends and family.

More information on library advocacy is on the FLA website at http://www.flalib.org/advocacy.php.

Transportation & Economic Development Appropriations Committee
– In the House, library budget issues will originate in this committee
*  Rep. Rich Glorioso (r), Chair – Parts of Hillsborough & Pasco counties – glorioso.rich@myfloridahouse.gov / District  (813) 757-9110/ Tallahassee (850) 488-0807
*  Rep. Greg Evers (r), Vice Chair – Represents parts of Escambia, Okaloosa, & Santa Rosa counties – evers.greg@myfloridahouse.gov / District (850) 983-5550 / Tallahassee (850) 488-8188
*  Rep. Joe Gibbons (d), Ranking Democratic Member – Represents part of Broward County – gibbons.joe@myfloridahouse.gov / District  (954) 893-5006 / Tallahassee (850) 488-0145
*  Rep. Jennifer Carroll (r) – Represents parts of Clay & Duval counties – District / Tallahassee – carroll.jennifer@myfloridahouse.gov / District  (904) 573-4994 / Tallahassee (850) 488-5102 
*  Rep. Brad Drake (r) – Represents Holmes, Washington & parts of Jackson, Okaloosa, & Walton counties – drake.brad@myfloridahouse.gov / District (850) 892-8431 / Tallahassee (850) 488-4726
*  Rep. Audrey Gibson (d) – Represents part of Duval County – gibson.audrey@myfloridahouse.gov / District (904) 353-2180 / Tallahassee (850) 488-7417
*  Rep. Dorothy Hukill (r) – Represents part of Volusia County  – hukill.dorothy@myfloridahouse.gov / District (386) 322-5111 / Tallahassee (850) 488-6653
*  Rep. Janet Long (d) – Represents part of Pinellas County – long.janet@myfloridahouse.gov / District (727) 545-6421 / Tallahassee (850) 488-6197
*  Rep. Lake Ray (r) – Represents part of Duval County – Tallahassee – ray.lake@myfloridahouse.gov / (850) 488-4388 
*  Rep. Robert Schenck (r) – Represents parts of Pasco, Hernando, & Sumter counties – schenck.rob@myfloridahouse.gov / District (352) 688-5005 / Tallahassee (850) 488-6641

FLA requests help from members

Leave a Reply

Scroll to top